SAANZ Awards

Each year SAANZ runs an essay competition for graduate student members with the winner announced at the annual conference dinner. 




2016: Claire Gray - The University of Canterbury

2015: Sylvia Nissen - The University of Canterbury 

During the annual SAANZ conference, the five best student abstracts are selected from those submitted for presentations. The winners are announced at the conference dinner. 


2017 Winners:

Callum Fitzpatrick - University of Auckland

Katharine Cresswell Riol - University of Otago

Keiran Ford - University of Otago

Moeata Keil - University of Auckland

Natalie Slade - Massey University


2016 Winners:

Haezreena Begum Abdul Hamid - Victoria University

Katy Falcous - University of Otago

Moeata Keil - University of Auckland

Jordan King - University of Auckland

Stella Pennell - Massey University

At the annual conference, during the post-graduate day, SAANZ runs a two-minute thesis competition for post-graduate students to have the opportunity to present their thesis work in the format of a three-minute thesis competition.  


2017 Winners:

First Place: Stella Pennell - Massey University Albany

Runner-up: Jessica Young - University of Otago


2016 Winners:

First Place: Kalym Lipsey - Massey University Albany

Runner-up: Haezreena Begum Abdul Hamid - Victoria University