The 2020 SAANZ Conference has been postponed. Go here for a statement from SAANZ President Avril Bell.

Past Conferences

2019: University of Auckland

Keynotes: Professor Ian Buchanan, Professor Roger Burrows, Professor Raewyn Connell, Professor Peter Flemming, Professor Beverley Mullings, Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith

2018: Victoria University of Wellington

Keynotes: Professor Tracey McIntosh, Professor Gregor McLennan

2017: University of Otago

Keynotes: Professor Patricia Hill Collins, Professor Ghassan Hage (Reference: )

2016: Massey University

Keynotes: Professor Michael Carolan, Steve Maharey

2015: University of Waikato

Keynotes: Dr. Michael Flood, Max Rashbrooke

2014: University of Canterbury

2013: University of Auckland

Keynotes: Professor Tracey McIntosh, Imogen Tyler


2011: Victoria University of Wellington


2009: Massey University

Keynotes: Hugh Campbell

2008: University of Otago

2007: University of Auckland

Keynotes: Professor Michael Burawoy, Professor Barry Smart (Reference:

2006: University of Waikato

2005: Eastern Institute of Technology

2004: Victoria University of Wellington

2003: Auckland University of Technology

2002: University of Canterbury

2001: Massey University

2000: University of Waikato

1999: University of Auckland

1998: Eastern Institute of Technology

1997: Massey University